Latest News from News 3

Las Vegas News | Weather | Sports | Traffic - MyNews3

CCSD announces new turnaround school principals

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 3/15/2013 4:03 pm
LAS VEGAS -- The Clark County School District today announced the principals for its newest turnaround schools.

Grant Hanevold will take over at Sunrise Mountain High School, Lori Sarabyn will lead Cimarron-Memorial High School and Debra Jones will take over at Elizabeth Wilhelm Elementary School.

In addition to new leadership, all three schools will receive additional resources and support, including an extended school day and specialized literacy program support.

The three schools were selected after a careful review of academic performance, school climate and interviews with current staff.

Interim Superintendent Pat Skorkowsky said continuing the turnaround school model is an essential part of bringing meaningful and lasting change to the nation’s fifth-largest school district.

“The turnaround model is one outgoing Superintendent Dwight D. Jones believed in,” Skorkowsky said. “We’ve seen amazing results with some of our early turnaround schools and I’m confident these three principals will accomplish great things. I’m looking forward to the leadership and vision they will bring to their respective campuses.”

Turnaround Zone Academic Manager Dr. Jeffrey Geihs echoed Interim Superintendent Skorkowsky's sentiments.

"I am excited to have the opportunity to work with the three newest principals joining our Turnaround Zone team as they come to us with proven records of improving student achievement and getting results," said Dr. Geihs. "I am confident in their abilities to repeat this success at their respective schools."

Since 2003, Grant Hanevold has served as principal at Kathleen and Tim Harney Middle School and Moapa Valley High School. He also served as assistant principal at Harney Middle School and first entered administration in 2000 as dean of students at Mike O’Callaghan Middle School. He holds a master’s degree in education with a specialty in administration and supervision from the University of Phoenix.

Lori Sarabyn is the current principal of Brian and Teri Cram Middle School in North Las Vegas. Prior to that, she served as assistant principal at Cheyenne High School, Canyon Springs High School and Theron L. Swainston Middle School. From 1999 to 2001, she was dean of students at Kenny C. Guinn Middle School. She holds a master’s degree in educational leadership from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Debra Jones is the principal at Stanford Elementary School, where she has served since 2007. Stanford Elementary School students have shown considerable academic and social growth under her guidance. She served as assistant principal at Daniel Goldfarb Elementary School and has served in various other administrative capacities since 2001 which included working with special needs students and mentoring new teachers. She holds a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from the University of Phoenix and an educational specialist degree in leadership/administration from Nova Southeastern University.

All three will begin their new positions at the start of the 2013-14 school year.



All content © Copyright 2015 Sinclair Broadcast Group. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service
You may also view our Sitemap.

FCC assistance for any person with disabilities can be provided by contacting us at

KSNV Profile & Public Inspection Files

2015 NBCUniversal Media, LLC. All rights reserved. Portions by Broadcast Interactive Media


Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.